Love Wins. Love Always Wins.

sunset

 

On the eve of the first anniversary of the Sandy Hook shootings, I am overwhelmed by sadness as I think about all of the families who will be mourning and greiving this holiday season. My heart aches every time I think of the 20 lives so selfishly stolen away from a world they never had a chance to see. And the 6 unbelievably selfless adults who sacrificed everything to try and protect them – heroes in my eyes.

I recently came across this video about Emilie Parker, one of the beautiful, innocent victims of the Newtown tragedy, and I felt that I needed to share it. For a family who has been through something I cannot even begin to wrap my head around, they still have so much faith, so much positivity radiating off of them. They have taken the love that they possessed for this little being and have chosen to share it with others. There is no doubt in my mind that Emilie is with them every single step of the way and she is glowing knowing that her family is spreading her joy.

With tear brimmed eyes, I sit and watch this video in awe. Above all it has proven yet again that there is nothing more powerful than love. As Mitch Albom quotes in the book Tuesdays with Morrie, “death ends a life, not a relationship.” That love that a relationship requires will always be there. The relationships, the love, the care that I give and take in this world are, and always will be the most important part of my life; and through this tragic event I am reassured that this is something that I will never let change.

Evil may have won the battle on December 14, 2012, but it has not won the war; because love wins. Love always wins.

RIP my Newtown Angels ❤

Say it to my face...

